Discover the university champions country by country

posted in: News EN | 0

At the end of the university season, the 2018 titles are awarded in most of the countries participating to the Master’U BNP Paribas.

In Italy, newcomer for the 13th edition from November 30 to December 2, Alessandro Ceppellini (University of Genoa-photo left) was crowned university champion at the end of May. In the double, Leonardo Baldi-Edoardo Trombin won. In the women’s tournament, Natasha Piludu (Bari University) won the gold medal after a 6-1/6-1 victory in the final. Beaten in the singles final, Chiara Arcangeli took revenge in the double with her partner Veronica Valgimigli.


In French-speaking Belgium, the Haute-Ecole de la Province de Liège (girls) and the Catholic University of Louvin (men) won the team tournament. In Germany, the team tournament will end in July. The quarter-finals are under way and it remains in contention, the 8 best universities. For France, click on this article Feuerstein and Szewczyk 2018 university champions.

In Great-Britain, title holders after their brilliant victory in Lille in December 2017, the finals of the university championships were held in late April. Filip Veger (University of Durham) won 6-3 / 6-2 over Isaac Stout (University of Sussex). In the women’s draw, the players from the University of Stirling have won everything! Natasha Fourouclas (South Africa) grabbed the trophy by beating fellow Stirling star Patricia Skowronski (6-4 / 6-2). A success reinforced with the double and the pair Rebecca Pedrazzi-Ingrid Vojcinakova who took the best on the two finalists of the singles (photo of the players of the University of Stirling on the right)! However, Scott Duncan (winner in Lille) and Kieran Macarty dropped the title against the pair Ben Jones-Tiernan Brady (University of Bath). Finally, in teams, girls and boys from Durham University climbed onto the top step of the podium.

In Ireland, the university championship was held in February in Belfast (Northern Ireland). The University College Dublin women’s team emerged victorious from their match against Dublin City University (5-0). The men’s title returned to Trinity College University which won 5-3, also against DCU.



And to conclude go to United States, in the NCCA championship, where the champions are known since the end of May and the long-awaited finals each year by American students! In teams, it is the Stanford girls and Wake Forest boys, the first title in history for the University of Winston Salem, who win the precious trophy. In women’s singles, Arianne Hartono (Netherlands) of Ole Miss-Oxford, also offers the first title in history for Ole Miss Tennis. In the final she took the best of Ashley Lahey (Pepperdine) 6-4 / 6-2. Eden Richardson and Jess Golovin of the University of Louisiana are the new queens of doubles. On the boys side, it is a foreign student who also wins the NCAA title since in the final 100% Wake Forest, the Cypriot Petros Chrysochos (Wake Forest) won 6-3 / 6-3 against Borna Gojo. Master’U 2017 finalist Martin Redlicki and his partner Evan Zhu (University of Los Angeles California) won the doubles title for Martin Joyce and Mikael Torpegaard (Ohio) 6-7 (8) / 7-6 ( 4) / 1-0 (9).

We have not find any informations about China…